Page images

[The late Parliament was dissolved on March 24, 1880; and the Writs were

returnable on the 29th of April following, when the new Parliament met for the despatch of business for the First Session of the Twenty-second Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland.]


PARLIAMENTARY ELECTORS.— In“ The Representation of the People Act, 1867,” the qualifications for the various Franchises are ated :

Section 3—Occupation Franchise for Voters in Boroughs.
Section 4-Lodger Franchise for Voters in Boroughs.
Section 5— Property Franchise for Voters in Counties.
Section 6–Occupation Franchise for Voters in Counties.

and Chief Officers of the Government.


First Lord of the Treasury and Right Hon. W. E. Gladstone.

Chancellor of the E.rchequer
Lord President of the Council . Right Hon. Earl Spencer.
Lord High Chancellor

Right Hon. Lord Selburne.
Lord Privy Seal

His Grace the Duke of Argyll. First Lord of the Admiralty

Right Hon. Earl of Northbrook.
Secretary of State for the Home } Right Hon. Sir W. Vernon Harcourt.
Secretary of State for the Foreign} Right Hon. Earl Granville.
Secretary of State for the Colonies

Right Hon. Earl of Kimberley.
Secretary of State for India

Right Hon. Marquis of Hartington. Secretary of State for the War Right Hon. H. C. E. Childers.

Department .
Chief Secretary for Ireland

Right Hon. W. E. Forster.
Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Right Hon. J. Bright.
President of the Board of Trade Right Hon. J. Chamberlain.
President of the Local Government | Right Hon. J. G. Dodson

The above constitute the Cabinet.


Sir A. D. Hayter, bart.
Junior Lords of the Treasury .

Mr. John Holms.
Mr. C. C. Cotes.

Right Hon. Lord R. Grosvenor.
Secretaries to the Treasury

Lord F. Cavendish.

Sir R. W. Lingen. (Perm.) Vice-President of the Education Com

Under Secretaries for the Home Mr. Arthur Peel.

Department .
Under Secretaries for the Foreign / Sir C.-W. Dilke, Bart.
Department .

Lord Tenterden. (Perm.)
Under Secretaries for the Colonies | Right Hon. M.-E. Grant-Duff.
Depurtment .

Mr. Robert G.-W. Herbert. (1


Viscount Enfield.
Under Secretaries of State for India Sir Louis Mallet, C.B. (Perm.)

Earl of Morley.
Under Secretaries for the


Mr. Campbell-Bannerman. (Pinan.) Department .

Mr. R. W. Thompson, C.B. (Perm.)

:} Right Hon. A. J. Mundella.
{ Mon. Sinar Liddell. (Perm.)

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

{ Moro-ni ve. Farrer. (Perm.)

Post-Master General

Right Hon. H. Fawcett.
First Commissioner of Works, &c. Right Hon. G.-J. Shaw-Lefevre.
Secretaries to the Local Government Mr. J. T. Hibbert,

1 Sir J. Lambert. (Perm.)

Hon. Evelyn . Secretaries to the Board of Trade

Admiral Sir A. C. Key.
Junior Lords of the Admiralty

Vice-Admiral Lord John Hay.
Rear-Admiral A. H. Hoskins.

Mr. T. Brassey.
Secretaries to the Admiralty .

Mr, G.-O. Trevelyan,

Rear-Admiral R. Hall. (Perm.)
Field-Marshal commanding in-Chief Duke of Cambridge.

General Sir C. H. Ellice.
Quarlermaster-General .

General Sir Garnet Wolseley. Judge Advocate General

Right Hon. G. Osborne Morgan. Paymasler-General

Lord Wolverton. Attorney-General.

Sir Henry James. Solicitor-General

Sir Farrer Herschell.

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

The Queen's Household.

[ocr errors]



[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]




[ocr errors]

Lord Chamberlain

Earl of Kenmare. Vice-Chamberlain

Lord Charles Bruce. Lord High Steward

Earl Sydney. Comptroller of the Household

Lord Kensington. Treasurer of the Household.

Earl of Breadalbane. Master of the Horse

Duke of Westminster. Master of the Buck-Hounds

Earl of Cork. Captain of the Gentlemen-at-Arms Earl of Fife. Captain of the Yeomen Guard . Lord Monson.

Scotland. Lord-Advocate of Scotland .

Right Hon. J. M‘Laren. Solicitor-General .

Mr. J. B. Balfour.

[ocr errors]
[merged small][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]

Note.-A change of Administration causes the retirement of all the

persons mentioned above, except the Commander of the Forces, the Adjutant-General, the Quartermaster-General, and the permanent Under-Secretaries of State, of the Treasury, and of the Admiralty.

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

Those Members to whose Names an Asterisk is prefited thus (*), were not in

the late Parliament al the dissolution.

Those with a (+) do not sit for the same places as in the late Parliament.

(8) Double Returns.

Acland, Sir Thomas Dyke, bart... Devon, N.
* Agnew, W.

Lancashire, S.E.
Ainsworth, D.

Cumberland, W. *Akers-Douglas, A.

Kent, E. Alexander, Claud

Ayrshire, s. *Allen, H. G.



Allen, William-Shepherd... Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordsh. *Allman, R.-L.....

Amory, Sir John-Heathcote, bart. Tiverton, Devonshire.
Anderson, George..

Archdale, William-Humphrys.. County of Fermanagh.
Armitage, B.

Armitstead, G.

Dundee. *Arnold, A.

Salford. + Ashley, Hon. A.-Evelyn-M. Isle of Wight. Aylmer, Captain

Maidstone. Bailey, Sir Joseph-Russell, bart... Herefordshire. * Baldwin, Enoch....

lewdley. Balfour, A.-J...

Herttord. Balfour, General Sir George Kincardineshire. Balfour, J. Blair

Clackmannan. * Balfour, J.-S.

Tamworth. Barclay, James W.

Forfarsbire. * Baring, Lord

Winchester. Baring, Thomas-Charles

Essex, s. Barne, F.-St.-John N.

Suffolk, E. * Barnes, A.

Derbyshire, E. Barran, John

Leeds. Barry, J.

Wexford County. * Bartlett, A..

Eye. Barttelot, Sir Walter-Bartzelot, bt. Sussex, W. Bass, Hamar. Alfred

Tamworth. Bass, Michael-Arthur

Staffordshire, E.
Bass, Michael-Thomas.

Bateson, Sir Thoinas, bart. . Devizes, Wilts.
Baxter, RightHon. William-Edward Moutrose.
Beach, William-W. Bramston .... Hampshire, N.
Beaumont, Wentworth-Blackett .. Northumberland, S.
Bective, Earl of ........

Westmoreland. *Bellingham, A.-H.

Bentinck, Rt. Hon.G.-A-Cavendish Whitehaven, Cumberland.
Bentinck, G.-William-Pierrepoint Nortolk, W.
Beresford, G.-de la Puer

Armagh. * Biddell, w..

Suffolk, W. Biddulph, Michael

Herefordshire. Biggar, Joseph-Gillis.

Cavan County. Birkbeck, Edward

Norfolk, N. Birley, Hugh

Manchester. Bissett, F.

Sonerset, w. Blackburn, Colonel Ireland. Lancashire, S. W. *Blake, J.-A.

Waterford County Blennerhassett, Rowland-Ponsonby. Kerry. *Blennerhassett, Sir R.

Kerry. * Bolton, J. C..

Stirling County. Boord, Thomas-William

Greenwich, Kent. *Borlase, W.-C.

Cornwall, E.

« EelmineJätka »