Page images
PDF
EPUB
[graphic]
[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]

often house Baskish tegi means

pages 131-134 are musing in this copy, containing epitaphs on Thomas Comey Eaft"; and John, Lord of Bridgwater, and George Abbot Eff:; and James Rivers boy:The Epitaph; by W. Toldeny himself in this Collection are in Volume pages 236 (turo), and 238. He does not say where that on his brother is. may not his own be at Ludlow, where "W. Tolderly, esq "died in 1786; as recorded in the gentlemans magazin volume 56, page 4A1? may no the gentleman in the frontispice & a Edito" himself? The Epitaphs on King Charles, the on in the of ve John Cleveland +1687. fire R.Rycroft

[ocr errors]

portract of the

From Edward 5. Dodgson, A-M. of P. ford, to the Bodleian citrary, July 1908, ai a companion to the thatszy Tur

[ocr errors]

TEIGH: ITS ORIGIN.
To the Editor of the Journal.

Sir, Can it be proved that the name "Teigh,"
designating a parish near Oakham, is of Keltic, and
British, origin, that is to say, that it has been
mouthed down by wireless" since the time before
the Saxons ever came over from Lower Germany as
invaders of the Isle of Britain? The words "Tigh"
in Irish Gaelic, and "Ty" in the Kymric speech of
Wales, and in the extinct Cornish, mean "house."
A "house" is a "home," and "ham" is the older
form of that, serving in the names of scores of Eng-
ish villages. Therefore, "Teigh" may be a way of
writing "house" in true British language.

EDWARD S. DODGSON, M.A.
Albert House, Bath, June 4th, 1918.

Jure &

WILLIAM TOLDERVY ON BATH.

[ocr errors]

of

Sir,-A book serving as a supplement to "The Dictionary of National Biography". is "Select Epitaphs Collected by W. Todervy" (London, 1755). It contains three inscriptions which then existed in the Cathedral Church of Bath, namely, Chapman, 1602: VOL Vol. I., page 69, on Peter Dame Damaris Masham, II., pages 41-43, on 1708; on Anne Finch, undated. This fact confirms the impression produced by reading "The History of Two Orphans," by the same author (1756). that he was wel acquainted with Bath. The copy of the latter belonging to the University of Oxford was formerly the property Dr. J. M. H. Munro, of Bath. It is a rare book, and famous because it supplied many quotations It also is a kind of to The Oxford Dictionary." supplement to theD.N.B.; as it records no less than 230 celebrities, some of whom have their niche in that collection. The frontispiece to this rare book is by Thomas Worlidge, who is recorden in the Dictionary of National Biography as having It was engraved lived for a long time in Bath. by Boitard, who is in the same collection, and who illustrated "The Men and Women that Fly" in the "Adventures of Peter Wilkins," by Robert Pattook, in 1751.

one

It is likely that this was the William Toldervy
in 1786, as
finds in
who died at Ludlow
"Notes and Queries" of June 24, 1916. Some of
the members of his family belonged to the Uni-
versity of Oxford, and one was matote of that
the
city. Others were Quakers, and possibly
history of that community in Bath might throw
more light upon his life than we have at present.
He was an antiquary. a philologist, and a

traveller. The Bath Herald.

Bath: June 11 1918

June 12. EDWARD S. DODGSON..

THE BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BATH.

The Bath Herald, June 17, 1918.

unnumbered

Lord Somersetensis." .. By William Hillary, three Sir, The Reference Library of Bath contains a copy of "Prayers for the Use of All Persons Who This book preserves the portrait of the Come to the Baths for Cure: By the Right Rev. Bishop of Bath and Wells. The Fifth Edition. London: Printed for James Leake, Bookseller, at Father in God, Thomas Kenn, D.D., late author. It is undated. But it cannot be earlier M.D.," the preface of which beare the date "Bath, May 8, 1742"; for this book occurs in the list of "Books Printed and Sold by James Leake, Bookpages at the end of this rarity. Mr. Emanuel Green, F.S.A., F.R.S.L., in his Bibliography of Somerset, published at Taunton, in 1902, recorde neither the first (1685) nor the fifth, edition of this book of the Wykehamical, Anglican Bishop Kenn, who died in 1711, at Longleat. In both we find the word "Heavenly-mindedness," which the Oxford Dictionary adduces from the years 1647 and then Leake's list serves as a supplement. In it the name which Mr. Green wrote Kinneir appears To the "Bibliotheca as Kenneer, Physician, at Bath. This is not even seller in Bath"; which fills in Allibone's Dictionary of English Literature and British and American Authors." than "An Inquiry, etc.. 1835 only. Bath.'

EDWARD S. DODGSON.

I remain, sir, yours,

Bath; June 15, 1913.

« EelmineJätka »