« EelmineJätka »
within the same, subject only to such alterations and regu
Ireland has no reason to be proud. He governed the see of Cashel (says Harrisa) "fifty-two years and near three months, during which time he made most scandalous wastes and alienations of the revenues and manors belonging to it”-in short he was more Euglish, in this respect, than the English themselves.
He was succeeded in 1623 by a Scotchman, Malcolm Hamilton, who died in 1629, and there is no reason to suppose that he was acquainted with the Irish language. Nor has any person, acquainted with Irish, ever since held those sees, down to the present Bishop, to whom allusion has been made.
DEANS OF EMLY. 1602. * Donat Hogan. 1602. *Hugh Hogan.
DEANS OF CASHEL.
Irish has ever since been
1615. Kennedy Mac Brian (pro
bably Irish—but he may have
ARCHDEACONS OF CASHEL.
ARCHDEACONS OF EMLY. 1588. * Donagh [some say Co- 1560 Dermot O Mulrian
nogh or Cornelius) O Hagan, 1613 John Steere or 0 Lonargan
(1615?] Theod. Mac. Brian [?] 1615 ? Thomas Wilson
1617. Gerald Fitzgerald 16- Edmund Donellan
The sees of Cork, Cloyne, and Ross, comprising a vast district of Munster, where even to the present day Irish is greatly prevalent, were held during the same period by Englishmen:
1583. William Lyon, a native of Chester, ob. 1617.
lated to Tuam, 1638.
lations from time to time as circumstances may appear to the Parliament of the United Kingdom to require.”
And no bishop acquainted with the Irish language has ever since held these sees.
DEANS OF CORK.
DEANS OF Ross. 1582. Thomas Long (Perhaps an 1591. Robert Sturton, or Shirton
Irishman, as Longan, now angli- 1615. Hugh Persevall (died 1630]
cised Long, is a Munster name] 1590. Robert Grave 1600. Thomas Ram 1605. George Lee
DEANS OF CLOYNE. 1591. John Fitz Edmund 1612-13. Thomas Winter 1615. Edward Clarke
ARCIIDEACOxs or Cork. 1613. Michael Boyle 1615-16. Manasses Marshall 1625. Edward Finch
ARCHIDEACONS OF Ross. 1591. Meredith Hanmer 1615. Theodore Arthur 1619. Nicholas Hall
ARCUIDEACONS OF CLOYNE.
deacon of Cork]
Nor has any clergyman acquainted with the Irish language ever since been either Dean or Archdeacon in those three dioceses.
The sees of Limerick, Ardfert, and Aghadoe, comprising another vast district of Munster, in which the English language was an unknown tongue, were held in like manner by Englishmen.
John Thornburgh, or Thornborough, a native of Salisbury, promoted to the see of Limerick in 1593, after it had remained vacant two years, was the first appointment made by Elizabeth. He had
This Article also regulated how the four spiritual lords
been Dean of York, and chaplain to the Queen in England, and there is no reason to suppose that he had any knowledge of the Irish language. He was translated to Bristol in 1603, and afterwards to Worcester, where he died in 1641.
He was succeeded in 1604 by Bernard Adams, an Englishman and Fellow of Trinity College, Oxford, who held with the see of Limerick the see of Kilfenora in commendam. He died in 1625-6, and was succeeded by Francis Gough, also an Englishman.
DEANS OF LIMERICK. 1588. Denis Campbell [a Scotch
man] 1603. George Andrews 1635. Michael Wandesford
ARCHIDEACONS OF LIMERICK.
John Lane (resigned 1605] 1605 Richard Boyle (afterwards
Bishop of Cork & Archbishop
The sees of Ardfert and Aghadoe were held during the same period, first by Nicholas Kenan, who was apparently an Irishman, and was appointed by Elizabeth in 1588. Then by Nicholas Crosby or Cosby, who succeeded in 1600, and is spoken of in the Queen's letter as "a graduate in schools, of English race, yet skilled with Irish tongue." He died in September, 1621, and was succeeded by John Steere, an Englishman.
The great poverty of these secs may very possibly have been the reason why Sir Henry Sidney's policy was partially carried out in this district during the reign of Elizabeth.
DEANS OF ANDFERT. 1603. Richard Southwell 1603 Robert Chaffe. 1619-20. William Steere
ARCHDEACONS OF ARDFERT. 1615. Nicholas Averie 1625. John Ducey
ARCADEACONS OF AGHADOE.
should be returned for each session; namely, that one of
The see of Killaloe in the reign of Elizabeth was held by Maurice or Murtogh O'Brien-Arra, who was nominated by the Crown in 1570. He was an Irishman of the royal race of Thomond, although educated at Magdalen College, Cambridge ; but he was not consecrated for six years after his appointment, during which time the see was disputed by Malachy 0 Molana, who claimed under a bull from the Pope. He was succeeded in 1613 by John Rider, an Englishman, and no bishop acquainted with the native language has ever since held this see. The adjoining diocese of Kilfenora was held in commendam by the Bishop of Limerick, from 1606 to 1617, having been vacant from 1602.
In 1617, John Steere, an Englishman, succeeded, and was translated to Ardfert in 1621, when his place was filled by William Murray, also an Englishman. In 1627 or 1028, Murray was translated to Llandaff.
KILFENORA. 1585. * Donogh O Horan
1585. * Daniel or Donat O Shen. 1002. * lIugh O Hogan
nagh (He appears to have con1024. Richard Hackel
tinued until 1615] 1617. Hygate Love
ARCHDEACONS. 1590. * Patrick O Hogan
1615. Hugh Powell 1624. Thomas Lodge
1625. Joun Twenbrooke
In the province of Connaught, the stronghold of the Irish language, where even to the present day but little English is spoken, the same strange policy was pursued, with very rare exceptions; but here, not having the advantage of Dr. Cotton's useful labours (that portion of his work containing the Province of Tuam not being yet published) we must confine ourselves to the Bishops, whose names we learn from Ware.
ArchBISHOPS OF TUAM.
the four archbishops of Ireland should sit in each session,
though educated in Oxford, and no doubt spoke Irish; he held the see of Enaghdune, or Annadown, (now permanently united to Tuam) with his Archbishoprick ; and died 1595.
1595. Nehemiah Donnellan, also a native of Galway, but educated at Cambridge. He was also, no doubt, acquainted with Irish, being of an ancient Irish family in the Hy Many country. He resigned the see in 1609, being unable from age to discharge its duties.
In 1609, William O Donnell, or Daniel, as he anglicized his name according to the custom of that time, succeeded. He was an Irishman, educated at Trinity College, Dublin, and one of the Fellows of that house. He had been nominated at an early age, by the Charter of Foundation, to be one of the scholars of the college, which was de. signed by its fuunders to bring up the natives of Ireland "in learuing, religion, and humanity;" and Archbishop O Donnell is a favourable specimen of the effects of the Institution. To him we owe the first Irish version of the New Testament, published in 1602; and also tho first Irish version of the Book of Common Prayer, printed in 1608. He died in 1629, and was the last Archbishop of Tuam who could speak the Irish language. He was succeeded in 1629 by Randolph Barton, an Englishman of the University of Cambridge.
BISHOPS OF Elphin. In the see of Elphin we find Thomas Chester, a native of London, nominated by the Crown in 1583; he died the same year, and was succeeded by John Lynch, a native of Ireland, whose conduct certainly gave but poor encouragement to the Government to carry out the policy recommended by Sir Henry Sidney. For after reducing the value of the see by alienations and other corruptions to an income of 200 marks per annum, he resigned his post, and died “a publick Papist" in 1611. He was succeeded by Edward King, an Englishman, although a graduate of the University of Dublin, who was tho reverse, in every respect, of his predecessor. He built a castle at Elphin as the residence of the bishops, endowed the see with lands which he himself had purchased, recovered its antient possessions, and, as Ware says, “ left the bishoprick which he had found the poorest,